The journey ends…for now.

Top of Forester Pass

Top of Forester Pass

Well, I’m alive and hanging in Bishop CA at The Hostel California. I made it through a week in the southern Sierras trekking through some of the most beautiful scenery I’ve ever experienced. Unfortunately this is where the journey ends for me. The first part of the week I was able to hike virtually pain free then gradually it came back. Surprisingly my knee has held up very well, its my feet that are the giving me problems. Whether it’s the shoes, insoles or the constant pounding they take everyday, it seems as though they never seem to recover. So I think its best for me to leave the trail and take care of myself so I can continue to hike in the future.

I really appreciate all of you who followed along and gave me the opportunity to share a personal part of my life.

I’m in the process of figuring out my exit strategy and see if I can try to experience a few more places along the way as I make my way back to Seattle.

I’ll leave you with a few photos and will probably follow up in a week or so with a synopsis of my last week on the trail and also some thoughts about my experience out there. I will say that if any of you who thinks and dreams about adventure or just wants to do something for yourself, plan it and get out there and do it. I only wish I did something like this earlier in my life. This definitely won’t be the last one for me..I believe it’s the beginning of something that will make my life more exciting and fulfilling. I don’t have the responsibilities that most people have so the world is open for me and the adventures are endless.

Thanks again for your great comments and support…

Grinder

Start of Sierras

Start of Sierras

Crabtree Meadow

Crabtree Meadow

wpid-img_20150610_125854216.jpg
Looking back from Forester Pass

Looking back from Forester Pass

3 thoughts on “The journey ends…for now.

  1. Hey Paul – Be proud of yourself for making the journey happen for you, for being brave and trying something new and unknown, for sharing your experience with the world and most importantly for trusting yourself to know when it was the right time to stop, even if its not what you originally planned. I’ve loved reading your blog, its been funny and inspirational and know there are lots more exciting adventures in store for you! You are awesome!

    Penny (from Purple)

    Like

    • Thanks alot Penny.. It was short lived but was an awesome experience. So many great people and memories. Hope to see you at Purple sometime!

      Like

  2. Hey, Paul!
    I’m so sorry to hear about your foot problems. That sux, but the alternative, whatever off-trail adventure that awaits you, may be a great surprise in itself.
    Brooklynn (aka Bear Chaser) and I are still making progress, one slow, heavy step after another. I think we missed you at The Hostel California by about 2 weeks–what a place!
    I enjoyed your blogs. I hope you have a great rest of your summer, Grinder. Whatever happens, let it!!
    Beth (aka Texas Star)

    Like

Leave a comment