Day 25

My goal today was to get to the hot springs 3 miles away to soak my ailing parts. This is a clothing optional place so I wasn’t sure what to expect. Apparently alot of people from the LA area come here and from what I heard some good looking women. It was cloudy and windy for my trek into the springs so I wasn’t expecting a huge crowd when I arrived.

I got there and it was mostly hikers. Saw a few familiar faces and looked for a pool to hang my legs in. I had no desire to soak my whole body since it was a little chilly and I didn’t want to wait to dry off because I only wanted to stay for a half hour or so. A couple was already there with swim suits on so I was okay with that. No sooner I get my feet wet when another hiker joined in with nothing on. Really not into seeing someone in that state and then seeing them on the trail. After that some older heavier guy comes walking in with nothing but 3 Keystone Lights. He walks by me trying to get to the bottom pool only to pass by a few feet from me…Yuk!!! I have no problem with nudity but this wasn’t my scene so I packed it up and got out of there.

I mosied along the flat trail that dips in and out of canyons to the next water source about 5 miles up trail. I loaded up and continued until about dusk where I got to a nice sandy area where I could set up for the night. It was pretty windy out which made setting up the tarp a pain in the ass. I finally got it set up but not as I would have liked it. The wind was coming from every direction so the sides and doors would flap in and out making it hard to fall asleep with a sense of security.

I managed to make it through the night without having another episode like I did when I first set it up in the desert. I’m getting the hang of it, but with the size of the tarp and windy conditions it was like wrestling a muddy pig. I started to think a lightweight tent might be an option for me down the road… probably not.

Hot springs pool

Hot springs pool

Looking back to where I came from.

Looking back to where I came from.

Leave a comment