Day 26

Despite the windy night and noisy tarp, I was able to get some sleep. I got another late start after laying around and massaging my legs and eating some breakfast. Didn’t plan on a long day because I only wanted to get to Silverwood Lake at mile 326 to relax and ease my way into Cajon Pass 14 miles away the next day. Well, things didn’t work out that way. My feet were getting sore and I decided I need to get off trail as soon as I could. The trail dipped down to a highway so I thought I would try and hitch a ride to Cajon Pass and get a room for the night. After about 15 minutes and nobody stopping I figured I would hike the last 3 miles to the Lake and get there before the sun went down.

I only walked for about 10 minutes then came up on a water cache left by a trail angel. Inside the cooler was a trail registry book (a notepad hikers sign). In the front of the registry was the trail angels name and number offering rides if needed. I quickly called him up and he said he was on the exact trail I was on and would be there in a half hour. So I waited, anticipating the ride, and called the Best Western to book myself a room. Shortly after Fritz and his dog Bambi showed up. The dog was a rescue from a hit and run and suffered from brain damage…definitely a sad situation. Bambi had a muzzle on and continually tried to bite me the whole way, barking at such high pitched levels I thought the windshield would crack. Its hard to describe in detail the events that took place on this ride, but it was very comedic to say the least. Bambi was wedged between the door and Fritz’s belly while on the drive, snarling and showing his teeth at me. I thought for sure he would just leap over and try and take me out, even with the muzzle on. We had to pull over so Fritz could tether him to the backseat to limit his range..I leaned in more towards my door just in case. All I could think about was the shower and bed that soon awaited.

We arrived at the motel 20 minutes later. These trail angels are so generous and do these things for us because they want to, so when I offered some cash to him and he denied it, I could only think it would be nice to have more people in the world like him…just not the dog. Wow, a ride I will never forget.

I checked in and signed the PCT registry and noticed some familiar names. Good to see some fellow hikers I know staying here as well. Went to the store, picked up a 6 pack and immediately hit the shower. Knowing I was off trail and able to get ice on my feet and knee and relax in bed felt great.

Waiting for Fritz

Waiting for Fritz

One thought on “Day 26

Leave a comment