Day 12

The morning brought some cool temps and that clean fresh moisture I’m used to in the PNW. Walked back to town to see about a ride to the trailhead and pick up some down pants from an outdoor gear store in town I ordered from. The dude was suppose to be there at 8, but he was stuck in traffic coming from the coast so I waited till about 9 then told them I had to get to the trail by 10. Decided to leave and order pants online and have them shipped to Big Bear..5 days and away.

Clouds to west

Clouds to west

Desert and Palm Springs

Desert and Palm Springs

wpid-img_20150509_153724023.jpg

Got our ride and hit the trail around 10:15. With bright blue skies and the melting snow from the trees raining down in a light drizzle made the start of the hike refreshing. Small rivers made their way down the trail and for the first time had wet feet. The cold water that soaked my shoes in just a few minutes actually felt good, a change from the hot desert and highway walking.

GG and I worked our way up the mountain towards San Jacinto Peak to an elevation of 10,834ft, a little over 4,000ft climb. I could feel the altitude change as I continued on, stopping frequently to catch my breath. The smell of fresh pine and the sap from the trees warming from the sun made for an enjoyable hike overall. Off to the west the views were blanketed by clouds as far as you could see. To the east the desert and Palm Springs off in the distance. I finally reached the peak with incredible 360 degree views. Amazing how the views change from one direction to the other. Only stayed for about 20 minutes then started the long descent down to reach a campsite before night set in. The trail did not disappoint on the way down, carving its way down mostly with the views of the clouds and the sun setting to the west. Reached our campsite just as it was getting dark. With cold wet feet and the chilling night air, I set up the hammock wishing I had those down pants for extra warmth. Decided to throw my sleeping pad in the hammock for extra warmth to keep me toasty all night. Slept like a baby.

2 thoughts on “Day 12

  1. Paul, Jim and I look forward to reading your posts. We can really get a sense of the PCT from your writings. You are able to describe things in an informative and interesting manner. Keep them coming!
    Your former neighbors

    Like

    • I’m so glad to hear from you guys. I really appreciate your comment. I’m trying to be honest and real in my thoughts and daily adventures..

      Like

Leave a comment