Day 13

With a new day breaking, we knew there was a tough road ahead. Coming down from San Jacinto Peak via Fuller Ridge the previous day we had already descended 4,000 of the almost 10,000ft to reach the desert floor again. The descent started off innocent enough, cutting through the forest and boulder fields. I could feel the strain coming on in my legs and knees, but didn’t think much of it. After a little while GG and I took a break and this is where he gave me my trail name. Are you ready?? “Grinder”. I respectfully accepted this name. He thought I was always grinding out the miles so it definitely fit. Thanks buddy!!

This downhill was relentless, never ending twists and turns, sometimes flattening out, but never enough to soften the blow on my now weakening left knee. There was no stopping though. The heat is your enemy, water your friend. Unfortunately my water supply was diminishing. I had to get to the bottom soon. I finally reached the end where a water fountain greeted me, along with a family of bees bathing around it. Totally exhausted and in pain after over almost 10,000ft and 20 miles of downhill, I turned around and admired the snowy peaks, and with my middle finger raised high I cursed the downhill and what it did to my knee.

It wasn’t over though. After drinking a few liters of water and filling up a few, I still had to hike another 5 miles to the trail angels house Ziggy and the Bear. My knee was feeling the effects of the descent, so I was relieved to know the rest of the trail was mostly flat. With 5 miles of hot open desert and no shade I started to get that all to familiar feeling in my stomach. Perfect..just what I needed right now. Just up ahead the trail ducks under highway 10 in Cabazon where a trail angel named Monty left sodas for us.

After downing a Mt. Dew in a few seconds I readied myself for the final push to my home for the night. Ziggy and the Bear are a very generous couple who have been hosting hikers in their carpeted backyard for years. They provide some food, drinks, showers and a place stay for a few days. After a long day, I didn’t have energy for a shower so I hung out with about 20 or so hikers until the lights went out and the stars lit up the sky.

Last nights hang

Last nights hang

wpid-img_20150510_110246765.jpg
"Grinder"  a.k.a. Pauly V San Jacinto Peak in distance..

“Grinder” a.k.a. Pauly V
San Jacinto Peak in distance..

Ziggy and Bear backyard

Ziggy and Bear backyard

Leave a comment